Allergy Information

Lindt Chocolates:

Gluten or barley malt  

At this time Lindt cannot guarantee that chocolates are 100% gluten free. The white and extra dark (70% cocoa and more chocolate products do not contain barley malt extracts. However, because they run on the same production lines as other products, there can be a possibility of cross contamination. Lindt is aware of the growing prevalence of Celiac Disease and other conditions and are sensitive to the fact that these large groups of consumers are unable to enjoy their chocolate at this time.

Tree nuts

No Lindt product is 100% guaranteed tree nut allergen safe. The “may contain peanuts and tree nuts” warning informs you that the product may contain minute traces of tree nuts or peanuts. All Lindt manufacturing facilities process tree nut products, so there is a potential for cross contamination.  Though Lindt incorporates the most thorough cleaning process, trace amounts may cross contact with other products within the factory. Lindt is aware of the growing prevalence of restricted diets due to tree nut allergies and are sensitive to the fact that these consumers may not be able to enjoy their chocolate at this time.

Are any Lindt chocolate products suitable for people with lactose intolerance?

Lindt uses whole milk, skim milk and other diary ingredients on many chocolate products. While their white and milk chocolate products contain the most, their 70%, 85%, 90% and 99% bars do not have milk products as an ingredient. All Lindt manufacturing facilities process milk, dark and white chocolate products. They have an allergen control program in place and adhere to strict Good Manufacturing Practices in order to reduce the risk of cross contamination, however, they do label all of their chocolate products that do not contain milk as an ingredient with the statement “may contain milk” as a precaution for those that are most sensitive to milk and milk ingredients. For those reasons, Lindt does not have products suitable for people with severe lactose intolerance.

Does Lindt have any soy lecithin free chocolate?

Soy lecithin can be found in Lindt’s regular dark chocolate products, as well as milk and white chocolate. The excellence 70%, 85%, 90% and 99% bars do not contain soy lecithin as an ingredient. They have an allergen control program in place and adhere to strict Good Manufacturing Practices in order to reduce the risk of cross contamination. However, they do label all of their products with “may contain soy” as a precaution for the most sensitive consumers.

Does Lindt chocolate contain eggs?  

Some Lindt chocolate products do contain eggs in their fillings.

Are Lindt chocolate products Kosher?  

Lindt products are not Kosher certified.

Are Lindt chocolate products suitable for vegetarians? 

Lindt chocolates are suited for vegetarians. The only ingredients of animal origin used to manufacture some Lindt chocolates are milk, milk products, milk fat and cream, and sometimes eggs..

Is white chocolate truly chocolate?

A much debated question, but the answer is yes. Real white chocolate contains cocoa butter, sugar and milk powder as basic ingredients. With the cocoa butter being an important ingredient in the recipe, it is considered “chocolate”. All Lindt white chocolate products are made with a high percentage of cocoa butter.

IMPORTANT SAFETY WARNING         

Bouquets contain sharp pins and wires; and chocolates may pose a choking hazard; so chocolate bouquets are not suitable for small children.